The Bihar Post

BJP loses six sitting LS seats to allies to perform well in crucial India elections

0 42


PATNA: The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) has lost six of its sitting seats to its allies under the seat-sharing arrangement for the Lok Sabha polls which will kick-start from April 11.

- Sponsored -

This became clear after the names of seats to be contested by the three partners of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) were announced at a joint press conference held at the Janata Dal United (JD-U) office in Patna on Sunday.

Of the total six sitting seats, five alone have gone to the share of its new ally, the JD-U, whereas one seat has gone to the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP).

The six sitting seats which the BJP had to gift to its two allies from Bihar include— Gaya, Gopalganj, Jhanjharpur, Nawada, Siwan and Valmikinagar.

“We have come to the agreement through mutual understanding and will emerge victorious on all the seats,” JD-U state president Vashishtha Narayn Singh told a Press conference here today. He was flanked by BJP state chief Nityanand Rai and LJP president Pashupati Kumar Paras.

The three parties had agreed to the contesting elections on certain number of seats during a meeting held in December last.

You May Like this also

Later, at a press conference held at the residence of BJP chief Amit Shah in Delhi, it was announced that both the BJP and the JD-U will be contesting on 17 seats each while the remaining six seats will go to the LJP’s share.

At the Press meet, Shah also announced to nominate LJP chief Ram Vilas Paswan to Rajya Sabha from the BJP quota against any vacancies arising in near future.

In the last LS polls, the BJP-led NDA had won 31 out of Bihar’s total 40 LS seat. Of them, 22 alone was won by the BJP whereas the LJP and the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLJP) which was also a part of the NDA then had emerged victorious on three seats.

The JD-U led by chief minister Kumar was not a part of the NDA then and had won only two of the 38 seats it had contested in alliance with the CPI which failed to open its account.

Given below is the list of seats to be contested by the three constituents of the NDA in Bihar having a total of 40 Lok Sabha seats—

BJP: West Champaran, East Champaran, Sheohar, Madhubani, Araria, Darbhanga, Muzaffarpur, Maharajganj, Saran, Ujiyarpur, Begusarai, Patna Sahib, Patliputra, Ara, Buxur, Sasaram and Aurangabad.

JD-U: Valmikinagar, Sitamarhi, Jhanjharpur, Supaul, Kishanganj, Katihar, Purnia, Madhepura, Gopalganj, Siwan, Bhagalpur, Banka, Munger, Nalanda, Karakat, Jehanabad and Gaya.

LJP: Vaishali, Hajipur, Samastipur, Khagaria, Jamui and Nawada.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More