The Bihar Post

New trouble as Nitish Kumar’s JD-U stakes claim over BJP’s seven sitting seats in Bihar

0 23


PATNA: More than half-a-dozen sitting BJP Members of Parliament (MPs) have been living in panic as the Janata Dal United (JD-U) led by chief minister Nitish Kumar have staked claims over those seats, citing them as the “traditional” seats of the party.

- Sponsored -

The sitting BJP seats, media reports said, upon which the JD-U has staked claims include Patliputra, Aurangabad, Darbhanga, Jhanjharpur, Maharajganj, Gopalganj, Balmikinagar and Buxur.

If the BJP agrees to the JD-U demand, all of the sitting candidates will have to lose their “homes” and shift to other places in search of new shelter but the question here is that if they will be accepted by the voters.

You May Like this also

The BJP has already surrendered 13 seats to the JD-U, its new ally, following the seat-sharing arrangement. Of the 13 seats, five are ironically sitting seats of the BJP—a move which is set to cause resentment among the party leaders.

In the last 2014 LS polls, the BJP had fought elections on 30 out of Bihar’s total 40 LS seats. Of the 30 it had contested, the BJP had won 22 seats.

But, post alliance with the JD-U, the BJP has withdrawn its claims over remaining 13 seats.

Under the new seat-sharing formula, the BJP and the JD-U will be contesting on 17 seats each while the remaining six seats have been given to the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) of Union minister Ram Vilas Paswan.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More