US president Trump refuses to be chief guest at India’s Republic Day function

US president Trump refuses to be chief guest at India’s Republic Day function


PATNA: Donald Trump, president of the United States of America, has politely refused India’s request to be the chief guest during the Republic Day next year, media reports said on Sunday.

The invite was reportedly sent in April this year.

According to reports in the local media, Trump has cited “pressing engagements” on the same day, expressing his inability to be available on this day.

The severe embarrassment comes amid the Indian government making frantic attempts to improve relations with foreign countries.

But now with the US president saying ‘No’ to the offer, the Indian government now will have to look for some other heads of the state to invite at the annual function.

In 2015, former US president Barack Obama was the chief guest at the Republic Day parade.

List of Chief Guests on Indian Republic Day Parades (1950 – 2017)



Guest nameCountry
1950President Sukarno Indonesia
1951King Tribhuvan Bir Bikram Shah   Nepal
1952No invitationNo invitation
1953No invitationNo invitation
1954King Jigme Dorji Wangchuck Bhutan
1955Governor General Malik Ghulam Muhammad Pakistan
1956Chancellor of the Exchequer R. A. Butler United Kingdom
Chief Justice Kotaro Tanaka Japan
1957Minister of Defence Georgy Zhukov Soviet Union
1958Marshall Ye Jianying China
1959Duke of Edinburgh Prince Philip United Kingdom
1960Chairman Kliment Voroshilov Soviet Union
1961Queen Elizabeth II United Kingdom
1962Prime Minister Viggo Kampmann Denmark
1963King Norodom Sihanouk Cambodia
1964Chief of Defence Staff Lord Louis Mountbatten United Kingdom
1965Food and Agriculture Minister Rana Abdul Hamid Pakistan
1966No invitationNo invitation
1967King Mohammed Zahir Shah Afghanistan
1968Chairman Alexei Kosygin Soviet Union
President Josip Broz Tito Yugoslavia
1969Prime Minister Todor Zhivkov Bulgaria
1970King of the Belgians Baudouin Belgium
1971President Julius Nyerere Tanzania
1972Prime Minister Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Mauritius
1973President Mobutu Sese Seko Zaire
1974President Josip Broz Tito Yugoslavia
Prime Minister Sirimavo Bandaranaike Sri Lanka
1975President Kenneth Kaunda Zambia
1976Prime Minister Jacques Chirac France
1977First Secretary Edward Gierek Poland
1978President Patrick Hillery Ireland
1979Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser Australia
1980President Valéry Giscard d’Estaing France
1981President Jose Lopez Portillo Mexico
1982King Juan Carlos I Spain
1983President Shehu Shagari Nigeria
1984King Jigme Singye Wangchuck Bhutan
1985President Raúl Alfonsín Argentina
1986Prime Minister Andreas Papandreou Greece
1987President Alan Garcia Peru
1988President J. R. Jayewardene Sri Lanka
1989General Secretary Nguyen Van Linh Vietnam
1990Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth Mauritius
1991President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom Maldives
1992President Mário Soares Portugal
1993Prime Minister John Major United Kingdom
1994Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong Singapore
1995President Nelson Mandela South Africa
1996President Dr. Fernando Henrique Cardoso Brazil
1997Prime Minister Basdeo Panday Trinidad and Tobago
1998President Jacques Chirac France
1999King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah Dev   Nepal
2000President Olusegun Obasanjo Nigeria
2001President Abdelaziz Bouteflika Algeria
2002President Cassam Uteem Mauritius
2003President Mohammed Khatami Iran
2004President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva Brazil
2005King Jigme Singye Wangchuck Bhutan
2006King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud Saudi Arabia
2007President Vladimir Putin Russia
2008President Nicolas Sarkozy France
2009President Nursultan Nazarbayev Kazakhstan
2010President Lee Myung Bak South Korea
2011President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono Indonesia
2012Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra Thailand
2013King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck Bhutan
2014Prime Minister Shinzo Abe Japan
2015President Barack Obama United States
2016President François Hollande France
2017Crown Prince Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan United Arab Emirates


Featured Image courtesy: Social Media

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Cancel reply

Latest Posts