The Bihar Post

Mob attacks BJP MP in Bihar as penultimate round records 60 percent polling

Polling was held on eight LS seats in Bihar in sixth and penultimate round


PATNA: An estimated 60 percent voters cast their votes  as polling in eight Lok Sabha seats of Bihar passed off peacefully in the sixth and penultimate phase barring stray incidents of violence and shocking occurrences.

Reports quoting Elections Commission officials said a maximum of 63.90 percent polling was recorded in West Champaran followed by 63.80 percent in Valmikinagar, 61.37 percent in Vaishali, 60 percent in Sheohar, 59.20 percent in Gopalganj, 58.70 percent in East Champaran, 56.75 percent in Siwan and 52.12 percent in Maharajganj.

- Sponsored -

A shocking incident was reported from a polling booth in west Champaran where the BJP parliamentarian Dr Sanjay Jaisawal had a miraculous escape after dozens of villagers armed with bamboo sticks attacked him, media reports said.

Media reports Jaiswal had gone to a booth in his constituency when the angry villagers rushed menacingly towards him. However, the security guards accompanying him soon came into action and fired in the air to chase away the mob.

“Apparently an instigating speech delivered by the parliamentarian made the situation tense but it was brought under control very soon,” Bihar chief electoral officer HR Srinivasa told the media on Sunday.

Likewise, a poll official was killed in accidental fire by security personnel in Sheohar while in East Champaran, a voter died of heart attack while emerging from a polling booth after casting his vote.

The sixth phase polling is a major test for the ruling NDA since all the seats are currently held by either BJP or the LJP. On most of the seats, the contest is straight, which is a major worry for the NDA. Narendra Modi wave is also missing this time.

Experts say the initially euphoria noticed among the masses over the air strike on Pakistan terror camps too has vanished as the issues like unemployment, slowing economy, inflation, social security, farmers distress have taken centre-stage.

In the beginning, the BJP tried hard to keep the masses engaged in issues like Pakistan, Vante Matram, beef, Rajiv Gandhi’s “corrupt” dealings and JeM chief Masood Azhar but the focus has now shifted from the issues.


Key contestants: Janardan Prasad Sigriwal (BJP), Randhir Singh (RJD), Sadhu Yadav (BSP

You May Like this also


Key contestants: Heena Shahab (RJD), Kavita Singh (JD-U)


Key contestants: Dr Alok Kuamr Suman (JD-U), Surendra Ram  (RJD)


Key contestants: Raghuvansh Prasad Singh (RJD), Veena Devi (LJP)


Key contestants: Baidyanath Prasad Mahto (JD-U), Shashwat Kedar (Congress), Deepak Yadav (BSP)

East Champaran

Key contestants: Radha Mohan Singh (BJP), Akash Singh (RLSP)

West Champaran

Key contestants: Dr Sanjay Jaisawal (BJP), Brajesh Kushwaha (RLSP)


Key contestants: Rama Devi (BJP), Syed Faisal Ali (RJD)

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More